Danish Mutual Insurance was chartered in 1886, and is believed to be the oldest continuous operating business in the Elk Horn, Iowa area. The initial organizational meeting was held on December 18, 1885. At that time it was proposed and decided to organize a Mutual Fire Association for Shelby and Audubon Counties in Iowa. The association began writing fire insurance or rural agricultural property only in 1886. As time progressed and reinsurance became available, the Association was able to provide insurance against lost from additional perils and town property.

Danish Mutual Insurance is chartered as a 518 county mutual, providing the Association with a writing territory of seven counties; Shelby, Audubon, Carroll, Cass, Crawford, Harrison, and Pottawattamie Counties. We insure insure farm property, city and suburban residences and personal property, churches, schools, and community buildings. Currently, 16 agencies are licensed with us. They have a total of 24 offices located throughout our operating territory.

In addition to our President, Treasurer and General Manager, we have a staff adjuster, inspector, assistant underwriter/policy processor, and an office assistant/payment processor.